Masterclass/Lecture with Albert Mamriev

On Monday the 6th of June EPTA Iceland will be hosting a masterclass and a lecture with the great pianist Albert Mamriev.

The event will be take place in the hall of Garðabær Music School and will last from 9AM to 5PM. Ten students will partake in the masterclass. During the lecture Mr. Mamriev will discuss how to chose repertoire for piano competitions as he has extensive experience both as a competitor as well as a member of jury.

Admission is 5.000 kr. and included is a light lunch. Sign-up is by email to and please let us know if you require vegeterian/gluten free lunch. The fee can be transferred into the following account: 0515-26-13773 kt.: 690586-2239.

Results from the VIII. EPTA Piano Competition

Now the 8th Piano Competition of EPTA Iceland is finished.

We want to thank all the contestants for their great performance in the competition and also to thank their teachers and the people who came and listened.

The results of the jury are following:

Youngest Category – 10 years and younger:

1st place – Kristín Gyða Bjarnveigardóttir
2nd place – Iðunn Óliversdóttir
3rd place – Kolbeinn Hjörleifsson

First Category – 14 years and younger:

1st place – Vasyl Zaviriukha
2nd place – Þór Óli Bjarnason
3rd place – Ásgerður Sara Hálfdanardóttir

Second Category 18 years and younger:

1st place – Ásta Dóra Finnsdóttir
2nd place – Alexander Viðar
3rd place – Óskar Atli Kristinsson

Award for the best performance of a new Icelandic work – Lausagrjót composed by Ingibjörg Friðriksdóttir:

Polina María Viktorsdóttir

Results of the 1st round of the VII. EPTA Iceland piano competition

The results of the 1st round of the VII. EPTA Iceland piano competition are now available. The secretary of EPTA Iceland was responsible for overseeing and handling of all applications. Members of the Jury of the 1st round were Alexey Lebedev, Aristo Sham og Daumants Liepiņš. The judges appraised the videos of each contestant with points and a brief review in English. The judges only received the following information about each contestant: a name, age/division and works performed. In order to progress to the 2nd round each contestant needed to receive a minimum of 240/3 points = 80 total. 

Enclosed is a list of contestants in alphabetical order who were chosen to compete in the 2nd round which will be held in Kaldalón Hall in Harpa on November 24th – 25th 2018.

1st division

Vasyl Zaviriukha
Þórey María Eyþórsdóttir 

2nd division

Alexander Viðar
Ásta Dóra Finnsdóttir
David Wallerstein
Eysteinn Ísidór Ólafsson
Guðmundur Steinn Markússon
Helga Sigríður Eyþórsdóttir Kolbeins
Ingibjörg Ramos Hilmarsdóttir
Klara Margrét Ívarsdóttir
Magnús Stephensen

3rd division

Anais Bergsdóttir
Baldvin Fannar Guðjónsson
Björn Helgi Björnsson
Ólína Ákadóttir

The board of EPTA Iceland thanks all contestants and the jury for their participation and wishes them good luck!